In 2011 began the restoration and renovation of Palazzo Serristori, one of the finest examples of Florentine aristocratic building, which dates back to the first half of '500. The building belonged to Serristori family for centuries and for some years it has housed the administrative offices of Soprintendenza ai Beni Artistici e Storici di Firenze. For a long time now been abandoned, it will be renovated and turned into luxury real estate units.

Brief History

Palazzo Serristori is one of the most beautiful examples of Florentine aristocratic architecture, immersed in a context of rare beauty between aristocratic palaces and the church of St. Niccolò, in a unique strategic position overlooking Arno.
The complex belonged for centuries to Serristori family, one of the most powerful and illustrious families of the city.
The oldest sources on the construction of the building date back to 1520-22 when Lorenzo Serristori commissioned a residence in a zone near the fulling mills in the area of San Niccolò in Oltrarno. Despite many changes, the palace kept its sixteenth century structure until the nineteenth century, when it was radically changed by Alfredo and Umberto Serristori, two of the last heirs of the family. The opening in 1873 of Lungarno Serristori, in the places where a wing of the palace stood, led to radical changes to the building. The architect Mariano Falciani was entrusted with the project and designed the new facade on the river bank and the prospect of Piazza Demidoff.

Date back to the nineteenth century the new structure and the redefinition of some of the interior rooms of the building and their decoration that thanks to the restoration will regain their former splendor.
Most of the frescoes of wonderful beauty that still decorate the interior rooms date back to the eighteenth century and the late nineteenth.

Palazzo Serristori has been an animated center of social life and culture throughout the nineteenth century until almost the present day.

Joseph Bonaparte, Napoleon's brother and King of Spain, Demidoff family, Gabriele D'Annunzio, Richard Wagner are among the many distinguished guests who have stayed in the palace.

After the death of the last heirs, Palace Serristori lived a long period of silence and decay.

After the restoration and renovation of the building and of the adjacent park, began in 2011 under the supervision of the Soprintendenza per i Beni Architettonici, Paesaggistici, Storici, Artistici ed Etnoantropologici di Firenze, Palazzo Serristori will return to its former glory.